Updates!

This blog has become quite stagnant over the last year, and it directly correlates to my having started grad school last fall. While it was definitely an exciting year, and well worth all the stress, my free time became almost nonexistent and my energy constantly dwindled to unprecedented (and sometimes alarming) lows. Despite my year-long radio silence, however, I would like to highlight a couple of exciting (to me at least) developments.

I am now an editor for the Egypt and North Africa pages at Muftah.org. For those who may be unfamiliar, Muftah is a news website/online magazine that provides incisive analysis, in English, on countries in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA). Pieces on Muftah eschew the Western media’s focus on terrorism, oil, and Islamism, and highlight the complex factors that shape and influence regional countries and populations.

For my position as an editor, I regularly solicit and edit submissions, in addition to writing weekly blog posts, typically on current events. Just yesterday, I published an article on fog harvesting in Morocco, as an innovative approach to producing drinkable water for rural populations affected by climate change. The week before, I wrote a piece that received a lot of attention, on graphic novels and mobile app games that try to personalize the Syrian refugee crisis. Anyway, if you’re interested and would like to read more, you can find all of my pieces on my author page. And if you’re interested in writing something for Muftah yourself, please feel free to reach out to me! You can reach me through my site’s contact form.

Regarding this blog specifically, I will also be returning to 100 Beautiful POC and continuing the list that I started last year. I feel so guilty for having abandoned the project without reaching 100 people, and not even making it halfway through. I actually do have a completed list, but since I write a short bio for each person, I hadn’t finished all the research, something I probably should have settled ahead of time. If I ever do round two of 100 Beautiful POC, I will make sure to research and write about everyone before I begin posting, but in the meantime I just want to continue what I started last year. I really loved working through the process, but unfortunately life became so hectic and crazy that I couldn’t find the time to continue. This summer, though, I’m excited to continue, and complete, 100 Beautiful POC!

2 thoughts on “Updates!

    • Fatima M-E says:

      Wow, thank you! Editing is definitely a great job if you love to read and write. I hope you find a dream editorial position one day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

